It’s hard to imagine a law firm that doesn’t do digital marketing these days. Not only are marketing tactics like display ads, search ads and paid social cost-effective, they also provide significant reach. Whether you’re attempting to build awareness and demand or capture leads, digital marketing is a dynamic tool that can yield quality results.

As a legal marketer or an attorney overseeing your firm’s marketing function, you not only have to use these tactics; you have to know if your digital marketing is working for you. If not, it could mean it’s time for a change in strategy or, for those who outsource, a possible change in vendors.

To help you understand how to assess the success of digital marketing campaigns, here are some common key performance indicators (KPIs) that you are likely to encounter.

  • Impressions: While it depends somewhat on the type of digital marketing you are conducting, the number of impressions usually refers to the number of times an ad has appeared on someone’s screen, whether on a search engine results page, web page or social media feed. Impression numbers will often seem impressively high, and they are the broadest metric to measure digital marketing. That’s because, most of the time, your goal with digital marketing is to persuade your audience to perform some sort of action, often a click on a link.
  • Clicks: Sometimes lumped in with “engagement” metrics, clicks refer to the number of times users clicked on your ad or a link in your sponsored post. Clicks are probably one of the most-common KPIs to measure when conducting digital campaigns, because a click represents a completed action.
  • Click-through rate (CTR): CTR is a calculated percentage that divides total clicks by total impressions. Basically, CTR tells you how many people clicked on your ad out of everyone who may have seen it. These numbers tend to be low, in part because impression figures tend to be so high.
  • Cost-per click (CPC): CPC takes the total spend of a campaign and divides it by the number of clicks generated. For example, let’s say you spend $1,000 on promoting a social media post and generate 50 clicks in total. Your CPC would be $20 per click. CPC helps you determine whether your current spend is worth the results. For another example, say you run a campaign where a click takes users to your website’s homepage. While this is somewhat of an oversimplification, at a $20 CPC, you are in essence paying $20 for each person to visit your website from your ad campaign.

How Can Jaffe Help You Measure Your Digital Campaigns

Jaffe’s digital marketing consultants are experts at interpreting campaign data and evaluating results to provide strategic guidance about alterations to your digital marketing efforts. We focus on the numbers that speak to your overall business goals, whether that means increasing website traffic to a particular landing page or increasing the number of leads captured through the use of online forms.

If you’re interested in learning more about Jaffe’s digital marketing services, please contact Melanie Trudeau, Director, New Business & Digital Strategies, at